Install Xilinx / Digilent Cable drivers on Linux Mint for LX9 Microboard

I have a Avnet / Digilent Spartan-6 LX9 microboard. During installation of the Xilinx ISE I did not select to install the cable drivers. So I had to install them before I could program the FPGA Board. I am using Linux Mint 17.3 (Cinnamon), but the instructions should be similar to other Ubuntu based Linux distributions.

I roughly followed the description on this site:

First open a terminal and change directory to the Xilinx ISE installation, to be specific to the directory that contains the drivers for my board:

 cd /opt/Xilinx/14.7/ISE_DS/common/bin/lin64/digilent/

Then execute the install script as root. I accepted all of the defaults:

sudo ./install_digilent.sh

Finally udev has to be restarted to load the driver correctly

sudo udev restart

Now Impact (the FPGA programmer) can be started:

source /opt/Xilinx/14.7/ISE_DS/settings64.sh
impact

(Before all that I installed:

sudo apt-get install git build-essential libusb-dev fxload

But I think this is not necessary (it was from a different instruction))

Dieser Beitrag wurde unter Allgemein veröffentlicht. Setze ein Lesezeichen auf den Permalink.

Kommentar verfassen

