Setting up PostgreSQL & PostGIS

I wanted to make a custom printed map to give it as a present. I quickly found that Mapbox Studio Classic is an good tool for that which is easy to learn.

For some reasons I was not completely satisfied with the map data that Mapbox provides. This is why I wanted to work with my own map data, hosted in a PostgreSQL/PostGIS database (PostGIS is an extension to PostgreSQL. In the following is how I set up my DB

I installed PostgreSQL and the PostGIS extension via homebrew (I am using a Mac. On Linux you could youse your packet manager).:

brew install postgresql postgis

Here I found out how to start the PostgreSQL server:

pg_ctl -D /usr/local/var/postgres -l /usr/local/var/postgres/server.log start

Then I could set up the database user and the database itself:

createuser --superuser gisuser
createdb -E UTF8 -O gisuser gis
psql --username=gisuser --dbname=gis -c "CREATE EXTENSION postgis;"
psql --username=gisuser --dbname=gis -c "CREATE EXTENSION postgis_topology;"

To test whether everything worked as expected one can connect to the db:

psql --username=gisuser --dbname=gis

and inside the db prompt one can list the extensions:

gis-# \dx
                                         List of installed extensions
       Name       | Version |   Schema   |                             Description                             
------------------+---------+------------+---------------------------------------------------------------------
 plpgsql          | 1.0     | pg_catalog | PL/pgSQL procedural language
 postgis          | 2.1.7   | public     | PostGIS geometry, geography, and raster spatial types and functions
 postgis_topology | 2.1.7   | topology   | PostGIS topology spatial types and functions
(3 rows)

And finally the OSM data can be imported:

osm2pgsql -s -U gisuser -d gis ~/Downloads/rotterdam_netherlands.osm.pbf

This can take a while, and at this point I was glad that I only downloaded the map data of Rotterdam, and not of whole Netherlands, or the Planet.

Dieser Beitrag wurde unter Allgemein veröffentlicht. Setze ein Lesezeichen auf den Permalink.

Kommentar verfassen

